The Academy of Music Names Sarah Marshall and Jack Ginter Co-Chairs of 162nd Anniversary Concert and Ball

(Philadelphia, May 30, 2018) – The Academy of Music Board of Trustees announces Sarah J.M. Marshall and Jack Ginter as the co-chairmen for the 162nd Anniversary Concert and Ball, to be hosted January 26, 2019, at the Academy of Music and the Bellevue Hotel. The co-chairmen play a critical role in planning and ensuring the success of one of Philadelphia’s most treasured fundraising events.

“We are honored to be joined by two dedicated individuals who have demonstrated such strong support for the arts in our city,” said Caroline B. “Cackie” Rogers, chairman of the Academy of Music Board of Trustees. “Each year our co-chairs bring new ideas and energy that build on the past. Sarah and Jack will continue to expand on the tremendous momentum the Anniversary Concert and Ball has gained year after year.”

Marshall is a longtime supporter of the arts in Philadelphia, both as a board member of the Opera Company of Philadelphia and a volunteer and patron of Philadelphia’s many performing arts organizations. Marshall was co-chair of the Concert and Ball Program Book Committee for the 161st Anniversary Concert and Ball and chaired the Pennsylvania Ballet Gala in 2017. Outside of the arts she is on the boards of the Air Force Academy Endowment and which is a non-profit aiding families with adoption fees.

Joining Marshall as co-chairman, Jack Ginter currently serves as executive vice president and senior managing director for Abbot Downing, A Wells Fargo Company. Ginter’s involvement with the Academy of Music expanded Abbot Downing’s support of the Anniversary Concert and Ball. He currently serves as Vice Chairman on the Philadelphia Zoo Board of Trustees and is regarded as a civic leader throughout Philadelphia.

In addition to Marshall and Ginter, Mr. and Mrs. Eric W. Noll will serve as honorary co-chairmen. Georgiana Noll served as co-chairman and Eric Noll served as the corporate chairman for the 160th Anniversary Concert and Ball. Academy trustee Linda Fynes Siegfried will continue to serve as chairman of the Concert and Ball Advisory Committee for the fourth consecutive year. Lisa Bettinger-Buckingham, executive vice president and chief human resources officer of Lincoln Financial Group, will serve as the chairman of the Corporate Committee. A team of dedicated volunteers will serve as committee co-chairmen; Sara Cerato, Jane Corrigan, Nancy Rogers, and Nancy Ronning will serve as Program Book co-chairmen; Diane Hillyard, Jennifer Shacklett, Katie Adams Schaeffer, and Elizabeth Zelov will serve as Invitations co-chairmen; and the Young Friends co-chairmen are Kristin Detterline and Matthew Malinowski.

“The Philadelphia Orchestra is proud to have two dedicated co-chairs leading this important effort to preserve the original home of the Orchestra,” said Music Director Yannick Nézet-Séguin. “I look forward to leading the Anniversary Concert at the Academy of Music during a festive celebration of one of our city’s most treasured cultural assets.”

The Academy of Music is the oldest continuously operating opera house in the United States. Constructed in 1857, it has recently seen renovations that have renewed the grandeur and structure of the building, a National Historic Landmark, affectionately known as “The Grand Old Lady of Locust Street.” The Philadelphia Orchestra Association has owned the Academy of Music since 1957. The Orchestra returns annually to its original home, where it performed for over a century, for the Academy’s Anniversary Concert, one of the city’s most highly anticipated and well-attended white-tie events.

About The Academy of Music

About The Philadelphia Orchestra

Kathryn Lester

Liz Allison